Links from emails don’t launch (Locate Link Browser)

by

So when someone sends you an emai with a link on it, you simply click the link and it launches your browser right? Well I had a client then when clicked one of those links, he would be presented with a “Locate Link Browser” ;

Ok so this picture is a bit crap but in essence it was asking me where the browser EXE file was!

Oh this is simple I thought, I’ll just point it to IE (I know, I know, IE….) and away we go. So I did that, but now instead of asking me where the browser was, it simply launched the browser and went to the home page! No matter what link I clicked on, it would only go to the home page.

To fix this, I downloaded Firefox (I know, I know, about time…) and set that as default browser.

It worked like a charm. I also tested moving the default browser back to IE (sigh…) and now IE was working as well. Problem solved.

Leave a Reply

