Printer sharing

by

Picture this; I have a network with multiple computers (Mac and Windows machines). I share a printer from a Windows XP Home machine. 

I get the Mac’s up and running on that shared printer in seconds. the same goes for my XP home laptop.

When it comes to an XP pro laptop which is a member of a different domain it won’t work. When I type in the machine name using UNC or even the IP address I get a listing of the shares on that machine including the printer I want to connect to. If I try to connect to it I get the error “operation could not be completed”.

I tried many many things to resolve this (I thought it must have been the XP pro machine that was causing the error initially).

The fix was to remove Norton 360 from the host machine and install something more sensible such as BitDefender AntiVirus. Once that was complete it worked from the XP Pro laptop.

Another strange but true issue.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

