Recovering music from your ipod

by

I doubt I will do this one again for a long time which is why I’m documenting it here. 

I had a client with a fully packed ipod and wiped out laptop. He’s very keen on his music and plays part time in a band so it was very important to keep everything intact and keep the play lists too because that’s what he was using to practice with.

Anyway to cut a long story short I looked around the Internet, found a few good places regarding restoring back music from ipods and ended up buying some software called iGadget. Cost me $15 which was well worth it if I could restore it all back. I instantly got an email back saying thanks for the money and I should wait for an email with the download instructions….. which never came. (I’m writing this on the next day)

Screw that I thought, I’ll try some freeware software. To that end I found some great software called Sharepod – http://getsharepod.com – it did everything I wanted (with the exception of naming the play lists when they imported back into iTunes).

I backed up the ipod, restored back all the music and I restored back all the playlists as well. AWESOME software and what’s more it’s free, though I would highly recommend donating some money to the author if you can afford it.

So I guess this particular lesson should be about trying free stuff before you jump to buying software that may never turn up!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

