Avast Console Service not starting!

by

Grrr – this one really bugged me. I had a problem with a server running Avast Console. One day it just decided not to work anymore.
After many moments of hair pulling and gnashing of teeth I found there were two things that were just plain wrong. (Trust me I uninstalled and resintalled to no avail).

  • First – I went to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\avast! Administration Console\ImagePath and found that the path name to the console service did not have quotes (“”) around it. Fixing that got me a little further…
  • Second – the service logon credentials were set to a specific local account NOT to LocalSystemAccount like all the other Avast services. Changed that, plus the first point and the service started!

Next problem; The security certificate… Ahhhhh

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

