Permissons error when moving VMWare Fusion Virtual Machine

by

I got this error today and forgot that often on Mac’s a file is not necessarily a file but it can be a folder. So when I added the new user to have full permissions those permissions didn’t filter through to the files inside that folder… (yes that’s pretty crap).

So what did I do?

  • I had to remove the extension (which is  .vmwarevm) and then it magially turned into a folder.
  • I made sure I had the right permissions and then clicked on the tiny gear icon and said push these same permissions to the folder’s contents.
  • Once that was done I renamed the folder by adding the .vmwarevm to the end of it and then ran it. 

Worked like a charm.

Leave a Reply

