What up with Windows 8 safe mode startup?

by

This infuriated the hell out of me.

So apparently the correct way to do this is to hit F8 during startup. So I did. Nothing.

Then I do some more digging and find, oh no it’s now SHIFT+F8. So I did. Nothing.

Then I dig some more and find a new one… F11! So I did. Get this… I only works every other boot! WTF?

So I got it and then it asked me for a username to get in and low and behold the username/password combo doesn’t work! In the end I used a boot disk password wiper to clear it out and used that but man it’s a pain compared to every other version of Windows ever… Sorry. Just had to rant.

One Response to “What up with Windows 8 safe mode startup?”

  1. Alexej Kucher Says:

    If windows is still working you can press SHIFT & klick Restart together.

Leave a Reply

